Examining the Five Phoenix Suns Getting 2018 Hall of Fame Induction

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

PHOENIX – May 29: Steve Nash #13 and Grant Hill #33 of the Phoenix Suns celebrate after a play against the Los Angeles Lakers in the first quarter of Game Six of the Western Conference Finals during the 2010 NBA Playoffs at US Airways Center on May 29, 2010, in Phoenix, Arizona. NOTE TO USER: User expressly acknowledges and agrees that, by downloading and/or using this Photograph, the user is consenting to the terms and conditions of the Getty Images License Agreement. (Photo by Christian Petersen/Getty Images)

Of the 13 players getting inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in 2018, five spent time with the Phoenix Suns.

On September 6th, 2018, the newest members of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame will be presented with orange jackets to signify their excellence in the sport. Over the next two days, the 13-member class will be officially enshrined in Springfield, MA and honored with a ring to go alongside their new jackets.

The 2018 Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame class goes as follows: Ray Allen, Maurice Cheeks, Lefty Driesell, Grant Hill, Jason Kidd, Steve Nash, Dino Radja, Charlie Scott, Katie Smith, Tina Thompson, Rod Thorn, Ora Mae Washington, and Rick Welts.

Among the members of the loaded 2018 class, four were integral parts of the Phoenix Suns as players — Grant Hill, Jason Kidd, Steve Nash, and Charlie Scott — and one, Rick Welts, spent time in the Suns’ front office.

Hill and Nash, it should be noted, played together on the Suns for Hill’s entire five-year tenure in the Valley.

Prior to 2018, there were seven Suns in the Hall of Fame, with Shaquille O’Neal being the last to get inducted (2016). Charles Barkley, one of the organization’s most notorious players, was inducted in 2006. The entire list can be found here.

Below, we’ll look into all five former Suns getting honored and how they performed during their time in Phoenix.

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse